The Wisdom of Kids


Now that I’m back teaching in what is technically an upper grade, I am able to revel in the hilarious observations and arguments kids make. I thought I’d share three of my favorites from this week.

The day after reading Hey, Little Ant, a book in which readers are confronted with whether people should step on ants, we finally set up our reading response notebooks (which the kids had been demanding we do for days). We did a shared write in response to the book during which we chose a prompt and expanded on it. I sent the kids off to continue working on their own and challenged them to write 3 or more sentences. As I circulated, I came to one student who summed up his opinion on the matter like this: “Stepping on ants just doesn’t solve anything.” I loved it! What a turn of a phrase. So unexpected and so well placed.

Later that day, one of the girls was complaining that her tooth was hurting. We were flying through a wonderful day with really great work coming from everyone, so I didn’t make too much of a big deal when she took a bottle of Elmer’s glue and held it to her face like an icepack. Of course, I did ask, “What’s with the glue?” She looked at me like I  was crazy and said, “It’s cold!”

The tooth pain didn’t subside by the time we were packed and ready to go home. The student asked me what she should do. I said, “You need to tell your mom when you get home. I’m not a dentist.” To which she replied, bottle of glue still on her cheek and knowing how witty her reasoning was: “Well, the school has a doctor. I think they need to get a dentist, too!”


When we were getting ready to go home today, in a torrential downpour, one of the boys asked me if I was walking home. I said, “Actually, my mom is picking me up.”

Without missing a beat, he asked, “Oh, do you sit in the front or the back?”

You have to laugh at these things! Have a great weekend.

5 responses to “The Wisdom of Kids

  1. Pingback: Remainders: A navigation guide to the citywide high school fair | GothamSchools

  2. Pingback: Online Education in America » Blog Archive » Remainders: A navigation guide to the citywide high school fair

  3. Those are totally awesome. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Yes, thank you for sharing! It certainly put a smile on my face, love the “cold” glue trick.

  5. Children can come up with some amazing things. Their reasoning is tempered by their relative lack of experience and vocabulary. Their explanations may sound amusing to us yet, within their experiences, are quite valid. 🙂

    An encounter with a 5 year old…
    “He used to live in Wales,” an adult commented.
    A 5 year old looked puzzled then decided, “You can’t live in whales.”

    Not having knowledge of a place named Wales, she used her experience to decide those big things in the ocean aren’t good places for people to live.
    Very logical in her eyes.

    Ross Mannell (teacher)
    Australia.

Leave a Reply

