#Comments4Kids is Totally Legit


Students collaborated to write their first blog post.

At the end of the day, we sat as a class (huddled around my laptop because the SMART Board is lacking some components) to write our first blog. Kids were excited to share information about our class. Some were eager to type, others felt more comfortable dictating, and still others just came along for the ride. You can read our first blog by clicking here.

I told the kids that I was going to share it with my teacher friends around the world and maybe some of them would write a note to us, or, in blogspeak, comment. My idea was to hit up some of my closer Twitter friends and ask them if they could find time to say something. I also wanted to make my first foray into the oft-revered #comments4kids.

When I got home, I tweeted that my class worked on their first blog post and would love comments. Of course I added the hashtag #comments4kids. I knew I’d be able to rely on my friends, but it was the kindness of strangers that overwhelmed me. As I write this, there are 22 comments (37 at publication), the vast majority from people I never heard of, from places as far as Scotland or as close as New Jersey.

The #comments4kids hashtag is a must for anyone who is blogging with their students. In just a matter of hours, I collected a variety of comments to work through with my kids, during which we can touch on geography, grammar, and more. What a fantastic tool for making our world smaller and helping kids learn about what happens outside their classroom!

8 responses to “#Comments4Kids is Totally Legit

  1. You had an amazing number of comments on your students’ post. Every year #C4K seems to grow and grow and I get to enjoy seeing great stories like yours. There is no better way for your students to learn that the world is just an internet connection away.

    • We all owe you a great debt of gratitude for conceiving such a simple, yet powerful medium for the students. I’m amazed how many people wrote to my kids that their blog inspires them to want to do it with their kids. Here I thought we were the last class in the world not blogging!

  2. This is a great idea! Can’t wait to follow your students.

  3. I love being able to be a part of #C4K even though I am a curriculum coordinator. Kids need an authentic audience and I love giving a little of my time to support their growth as writers.

  4. #comments4kids has connected so many people to my young bloggers! Many of the people who comment become regular readers and a real connection develops. It is wonderful!

    Happy to see more classes blogging!

    Sincerely,
    Linda Y♥llis
    California

  5. Nice post, Matt! I love #comments4kids too. It transformed my student bloggers from living on a blogging island, where their only comments came from others in our own school, to become bloggers connecting with the world. Thanks to commenters like Mrs. Jacobs above, my students enjoy an authentic audience now!
    Denise

  6. Pingback: 10 Reasons Why Your Students Should Be Blogging

Leave a Reply

