The Music of You Matter


All day one of my girls was begging me to let her sing for the class. I kept telling her she could if we had time. During reading, she asked. During writing, she asked. Before science, she asked. During read aloud, she asked. Finally, bags were packed and we had time, so I said, “Go for it!”

I expected Justin Bieber or Selena Gomez, but what this girl and her friend sang was a million times more amazing. It was a song they wrote themselves and a song that had me tearing up almost immediately. The lyrics:

I matter
You matter
I matter
You matter

People matter
Babies matter
Teachers matter
Police matter

Everybody matters in the world
Everybody matters

I matter
You matter
I matter
You matter

Everybody matters in the world
We love when people matter

I’ll tell you, as stressful as things can sometimes be, children always have a way of reminding us about the things that truly…matter.

2 responses to “The Music of You Matter

  1. Shirley Teacher

    Really inspiring! Sharing moments like these are a way of motivating us!

  2. Thanks for sharing this! Very inspiring!! We posted it over on our NEW YouMatter Facebook page. Would love for you to head over and give us a ‘like’. Thanks! https://www.facebook.com/pages/YouMatter/249588161755963?sk=wall

Leave a Reply

