On the “Unmotivated” Child


I’m sitting here staring at a blank screen, trying to will words into existence. I’m looking at the television, barely registering what it’s saying or showing. I’m tired. My head is on my hand and my eyelids are growing heavy.

I take a sip of water. I get an apple from the fridge. I browse through Twitter and read a couple of web sites. I seem to be doing anything I can to not write this blog post.

And it’s not because I don’t like writing my blog. Nor do I have nothing to write about. But, for whatever reason, I just don’t feel like I have it in me this time. I’ve written so many posts before, yet this feels like a chore.

Lots of times, I find myself cajoling students to do what I want. I say things like, “You’ve done this well before” and “You did great with it yesterday.” But maybe today they just don’t have it. Maybe it’s just not where their head is.

And I have to respect that.

One response to “On the “Unmotivated” Child

  1. I support you in this sentiment Matthew 🙂 Sometimes I just want to turn off my brain and watch a little Modern Family or Fringe. Sometimes it’s just time to rest.

Leave a Reply

