License to Think


I was so excited to read this wonderful post by an amazing colleague of mine. In it, she writes about a lesson in shifting the burden of higher level questioning off the teacher and onto the children.

It immediately reminded me of my early year goals, which seem to have fallen by the wayside as cold, hard reality has intervened. I planned to make my classroom more student-centered, yet, somehow, I can’t help but think I am doing a poor job. I hear my voice reverberating through the classroom much more than I hear my students’ excitement. I am having a tough time breaking them out of their shells. I am, in many ways, feeling like a bit of a fraud for blogging one thing and practicing another.

Now, having read the post referenced above, I have a tangible idea to bring to my room to stoke the fires of wonder in my students’ brains. I already have thoughts as to how it might look in my room. If it works, I can see my students taking ownership of their questioning and learning, instead of sheepishly looking toward me for approval of their ideas or thoughts.

A blog from a colleague makes me think…and in turn, maybe gives my students license to do the same.

 

3 responses to “License to Think

  1. I can’t wait to read the post you mention. Questioning is one of the most important aspects of education today–how we develop that skill in students is critical. Thanks for prompting a valuable discussion.

  2. I can’t wait to hear about how it goes! Remember, though, it isn’t your mistake that leads them to wait for your approval or guidance. It’s the whole schooling culture and the one they confront when they leave school that you are going up against. It’s like trying to break people away from any string-held belief or stereotype. You are paradigm shifting, my friend 😉

Leave a Reply

