Questions for a Baby’s Mother


This is the first in a series of letters I will be exchanging with one of my colleagues on a variety of issues.

— 

Dear Ms. Mac,

This is your first full year of balancing your career as a teacher and your career as a mom. From what I’ve seen, new moms always seem to struggle to get back into the swing of the teaching thing when their precious few weeks at home with Baby are through.

Yet you seem to be keeping it together. How? How do you balance lesson plans with dirty diapers? How do you balance paperwork with feeding time? How do you manage to blog, sleep, or relax? I have no family obligations and find the duties of my work, so many of them done from home, to be time consuming and necessitating full attention to be done well.

No doubt your little pumpkin has changed and enriched your life more than you ever dreamed. But, not seeing your classroom on a daily basis, I have to wonder if you remain the amazing teacher you were before Baby arrived. Are you perhaps a better teacher now because your outlook has changed? Or are you not the teacher you were because the human mind and body have limits and so does the length of a day?

From a distance, you seem to be making it all happen. Please enlighten me further so I can better appreciate what it’s like for you.

I hope you’ll write back soon.

Mr. Ray

3 responses to “Questions for a Baby’s Mother

  1. I look forward to reading her response!

    I was a teaching Mom for ten years. I was very fortunate to have time home with my babies…I took a half year leave with my first, and a whole year leave with my second. Then I had my third and chose not to return. This is my fourth school year home. I have likened it to cutting out a piece of your soul and putting it up on a shelf. You can look at it sitting there, you touch it, but you can’t use it, so you never feel quite whole.
    I love being home and have no regrets about my choice. I knew once number three came along that I would not be able to give 100% to either my Mom job or my Teaching job if I stayed, and I’ve always felt It unacceptable to give any less. I am one of the fortunate ones who can financially afford that choice…all our decisions along the way have made it possible.
    Motherhood changes you. Once you are a Mom, you are forever torn between your children at home and your children at school, and your first priority naturally becomes your own children. Dealing with neglectful, abusive, or uninvolved parents becomes even harder. Everything becomes harder. Most of us look like we have it together, and many of us do. Some of us even thrive as teaching Moms. I know I didn’t, but the only one who suffered was me. I refused to have it any other way.

  2. Pingback: Answers from a New Mama Who Teaches « No Sleep 'til Summer::

  3. Pingback: Answers from a New Mama Who Teaches « No Sleep 'til Summer::

Leave a Reply

