A Math Tip Worth Trying


Charts like these help students talk and write about math.

I seldom share practical tips on this blog, but I was introduced to something that I think can help a lot of people.

A couple of weeks ago, a colleague shared that she started creating charts like the ones above for use in math.

Each chart is a collection of must-use words in a given unit of math. In this picture, you see charts with words one must use when talking or writing about comparing numbers or working with place value.

These charts have become an important part of my instruction. In whole class settings, I am able to refer to words on the chart when I say them (a huge boost for ELLs, students with disabilities, and anyone who needs the visual input). Working with small groups or individual students, I can just pull the chart off the board and bring it over to them for easy access.

Students know that they are expected to use the words on the chart. Rather than me reminding them of appropriate math vocabulary, they can just visit the proper chart and remind themselves what words they need.

Constructing the charts is simple: Take a sentence strip and staple the appropriate vocabulary to it. Voila!

The charts take up minimal horizontal space in the classroom (a biggie for me in my super small room) and are easily portable. I highly recommend making them and hope they benefit your students as they are benefiting mine.

 

6 responses to “A Math Tip Worth Trying

  1. I really like the organization and structure of these charts–thanks!

  2. Just yesterday, we had a grade level meeting about creating a numeracy rich environment in our rooms. We all have print-rich rooms, but numeracy has been more challenging. This is an excellent idea and I’m sharing it with my grade partners.

    • That’s one of the reasons it came about for us, too. Math often becomes the red-headed step child, doesn’t it? But, hey, this is literacy and math all in one. What could be better?

  3. These charts support all learners and are great for differentiating instruction.

  4. Pingback: Mobile Math Word Wall « No Sleep 'til Summer::

  5. Pingback: A Math Tip Worth Trying | From the Desk of Mr. Foteah | Mathematics in Secondary Schools | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

