Obviously Amazing


Credit to Curt Rees, who shared this video on his blog and got me thinking. Watch, then read.

Obvious to you. Amazing to others. from Derek Sivers on Vimeo.

I sat with a colleague the other day and she shared with me that she puts students’ IEP goals on a label, slaps them onto the sheets she writes her conference notes on, and, voila! IEP goals are right there for conferencing.

A true “Why didn’t I think of that?” moment.

Of course, she was nonplussed by the whole thing. After all, all it really was was a sticker on a piece of paper.

That’s the point made in the video, though. Share your ideas, no matter how obvious they seem to you. They aren’t obvious to everyone else!

A group of special educators at my school has decided to start meeting regularly to share these “obvious” ideas in the hopes that we can support and inspire each other. I have not had many opportunities to collaborate with other special ed teachers, so it should be quite beneficial.

Of course, I’m going into it thinking I really don’t have much to share. My ideas are very obvious to me. Maybe, though, they’ll be amazing to the others.

I imagine if I went into every classroom in my school (and there are many, we have 2,000 students), I would gain one “obviously amazing” idea from each teacher.

So, you, out there in the online community, consider the power of your original ideas. We need to hear them so we can benefit. You have amazing ideas. Please share!

These are some wonderful ideas I’ve found in the last few months. They may be obvious to their creators, but they’re amazing to me!

Here is an obviously amazing idea for word walls that I discovered this weekend.

A great collection of obviously amazing ideas for all aspects of the classroom.

Obviously amazing ideas for using specific music for transitions throughout the day. (My kids like the “Mission Impossible” theme song when cleaning the room!)

Some obviously amazing and fun ideas for the first day of school.

Enjoy!

2 responses to “Obviously Amazing

  1. Great article. I also love the Pinterest page you shared.

    I’ve often felt this way about computer shortcuts. Once you know things like Ctrl+C for copying, or Ctrl+Click for opening a link in a new tab, you take them for granted. But there are many people who don’t know about these little tricks… the question I’ve always had is: what’s the BEST way to share the tiniest tips with colleagues? What I’ve found so far is that there’s not just ONE best way. Regularly meeting with your Sp. Ed. group is a good way to get more ideas out there. Always keeping an open mind and being on the lookout for things to share and things to learn from others (no matter where you are) is key.

    Thank you for sharing!

  2. Thanks for sharing such great stuff.
    One “obviously amzing” that I developed (in a moment of desparation).,. I had a student who was visually overwhelmed by too much information on a page. I typically retyped math tests for him (or at least cut and pasted) to space out the problems. Of course, one day I had forgotten to prepare his test in advance. In desparation, I used large sticky notes to cover parts of each page and told him to simply remove each note as he was ready to go on. It works beautifully and became our ongoing strategy. Ultimately, he was able to use his own sticky notes to block off pages when things were overwhleming, taking responsibility for his own learning!

Leave a Reply

