Just a Blog


I texted a fellow nominated colleague yesterday that I just might head into the Edublog Award ceremony. She texted back scoffing, not realizing there was a ceremony. She said, “I mean it’s great people take pride in what they do but it’s a blog. No offense to you. I just mean there are way bigger things going on in the world.”

True, there are. Hunger, war, genocide, poverty, global warming, oppressive dictatorships, jobs, nukes…They all put my dumpy little blog in perspective, don’t they?

Well, I don’t feel I am currently in a place right now that I can impact any kind of change in those realms. There is but one place for me that I am able to reach significant numbers of people and plant seeds of inspiration in their heads that just might move us toward a better world of education. That place is right here.

So, just a blog? Maybe so. Bigger issues? Surely. Insignificant? Not at all. A blog is a voice that might not otherwise be heard. If mine helps people change their perspective on something, well, that’s a start.


This is a vast world with many issues to ponder. My blog is my niche in confronting some of the educational ones.

Creative Commons License
Ocean by Matthew S. Ray is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at photomatt7.files.wordpress.com.

2 responses to “Just a Blog

  1. I enjoy reading your blog Matt! =) And you should definitely take pride in your nomination!

  2. Pingback: *****I RECOMMEND THESE TO START WITH***** by deryckball - Pearltrees

Leave a Reply

