I’m Pooped


This is already the fifth morning of winter break. Against my plans, I’ve been sleeping before 10 every night and up before 7 every morning. Has this school year been so exhausting that now it is finally catching up? Is my body’s expectation of a certain sleep schedule lingering without need? The break is supposed to leave me feeling rejuvenated and refreshed, but lately, I’m just pooped.

Pooped so that I don’t have the inclination to look at any of the work I brought home. Pooped so that I don’t feel the desire to check my work email (on the off chance there is anything new). Pooped so that I am spending a lot of time on the couch watching television or browsing Wikipedia.

Last year, I took classes over each break, including the summer, so I could move up a step in my salary. This year, I am truly just vegging out.

Is this a bad thing?

4 responses to “I’m Pooped

  1. Not a bad thing at all–your body needs the rest. As a blogger and innovator, you’re now essentially doing two jobs each day. One is the classroom student-centered instruction and the other is the research and reflection. Add it all up and it’s a hefty schedule. Now you’re entitled to a restful reprieve: immerse yourself in nature, wonderful movies, time with friends and yes, lots of sleep.

  2. Don’t think too much about it. It will be over before you know it and you don’t want to spend the week thinking about whether or not you should be doing all of the work you brought home. Enjoy the present moment and rest assured you are doing the right thing.

  3. I hear yah … experiencing much the same …. & now: just gooooooooooo with the floooooooooooooooow šŸ˜‰ & be good to you!

  4. ahahaha šŸ˜‰ not a bad thing at all. I’m doing the same thing. It’s very relaxing. No corrections to bring home. Just enjoy the break to the fullest before starting the new year.
    Happy new year Matthew šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

