Cooking Up Learning


I used to think, back in the days when I knew everything, that I was such a good teacher that I could just walk in with the vaguest sense of what I planned to teach, deliver my lesson, and my students would get it. When they didn’t, I’d find myself asking, “What is wrong with these kids? I did everything I needed to do and they still don’t get it!”

If I could go back in time and mentor myself, I’d probably start by smacking me across the back of the head.

The fact of the matter is, back then, I didn’t do everything I needed to do. I didn’t plan consistently and when I did, it was not a purposeful project.

Walking into the classroom without a lesson plan and expecting your students to learn is akin to throwing random ingredients into a pot and hoping they come out tasting good. Could it happen? Sure. Is it likely? No.

Lesson planning is a part of teaching that can’t be overlooked. Plans need to be thoughtfully prepared with the students in your class in mind. Otherwise, you’ll be serving up glop that no one wants to touch.

4 responses to “Cooking Up Learning

  1. Whilst I agree having a plan is good but arguably that plan should be flexible enough to allow you to diverge if you feel that it is correct. Interesting to read your views, I work in informal education and specifically the use of the outdoors and think a lot of your ideas and views are relevant.
    NF

  2. Hear! Hear! And I love the analogy as a closet chef who can’t get her kids to eat their veggies. Teaching is a profession and we, as professionals, are expected to have learned a high level of knowledge and to apply a high level of skill in our classrooms daily. We should be very intentional in terms of delivering content, designing learning, and intervening for those who need specialized strategies to experience success in that learning. Our classrooms should be serving up fine dining, not beans and toast.

Leave a Reply

