Building Community with Better Communication


This year, I started sending home a monthly newsletter. True, the one I send the first week in February will only be the third of the year, but at least I’m finally doing it. I’ve had the idea since my first year, and tried a weekly a couple of years ago, but it was too much work. Once a month is manageable.

My newsletters alert parents of important dates that they need to remember. They remind or inform them of school and classroom policies that may need to be refreshed in everyone’s minds. I also try to include photos from the previous month to show the fun things happening in our class. I print them on neon paper and they have been a big hit with the kids since I started sending them.

There are many easily downloaded newsletter templates online. If you’re looking for a way to build a better community and communicate more regularly with families, try a newsletter.  It’s a fun way to reflect and keep families updated.

Here is a sample page from my most recent one. Click the image for a larger, easier to read version:

2 responses to “Building Community with Better Communication

  1. Cool! Communicating with parents is so important.

  2. Great format and that’s wonderful that you write it out in both languages. I try to do monthly letters home as well, though my format is much more boring. Maybe if I changed it up a little it would get home more often rather than being buried in their desks? Coloured paper’s a good idea too.

Leave a comment