The Top 10 Things You’ll Hear in a Special Ed Class During Test Prep


10. I don’t know what to do.

9. I don’t get it.

8. This is too hard.

7. This is boring.

6. I can’t do this.

5. This isn’t real reading or writing.

4. Can we read books?

3. Why don’t we write anymore?

2. Why do we have to do this?

1. I’m having a terrible day.

To which the special educator can really only say, “Do your best.”

5 responses to “The Top 10 Things You’ll Hear in a Special Ed Class During Test Prep

  1. What about:
    You never taught us that.
    I might be absent that day (of the test).
    Can we use a pencil or pen (when they only have one of those)?
    Is it for a grade?
    I’m finished (after 30 seconds).
    What does it mean when it asks us…?
    Can I go to the bathroom?

  2. That makes me want to weep/flip a table over. Nice post.

  3. Pingback: Remainders: Stuff special ed students say during test prep | GothamSchools

  4. I hear this all the time! It makes me so mad! It’s even worse when test day comes and a student that’s been in class all week asks: We have a test?

    I’m like I’ve only announced it at the beginning, during, and end of each class and it’s been posted on the wall all week.

  5. Fantastic! Will repost.

Leave a comment