Grind it Out


I’ve been away from this blog for a while because I’ve been concentrating my blogging efforts on two new ones I started, and, let’s face it, schools haven’t been open for quite some time now.

Section 47 is for you Mets fans out there. I won’t be posting game recaps or anything, but I will be jumping on every once in a while to offer my viewpoints on the team as they embark on their 2010 season.

MRay365 is something I’m particularly excited about. I’m now on Day 6 of a 365 project in photography. The goal is to capture a decent image every day for 365 straight. It’s really forcing me to carry and experiment with my camera much more than I do.

I hope you’ll check them out – both, or at least one – if they interest you, and let me know what you think.

Before we went on spring break (belated Happy Passovers and Easters to all), one of my good friends at work made it an unintentional habit to remind all of us that the next day off won’t be until Memorial Day. Teachers are vilified for the amount of off days in the school year – only non-teachers fail to realize the catastrophe that would be teachers who get no breaks.

No days off until Memorial Day is manageable, don’t get me wrong. Being, however, that the next three weeks will be nonstop test prep, it’s likely that all of us in the testing grades are going to be teetering on the edge before too long. And by likely, I mean we will be. Forget about the kids – they’re going to be zoned out before we know it. (Maybe the gross of reading pencils I got for them will serve as some type of motivation). By the way, I’ll also throw in here that one of my students actually told me she thinks test prep is fun.

Okayyyyyyy.

Anyway, it’s back to business tomorrow. My students were disappointingly stagnant on Edmodo, which makes me think, as excited as they were to receive it, they probably didn’t go all out on the beautiful 30 page packet I sent them home with. Ugh. Well, I’m introducing a new baseball math graphing routine to get them solid on line graphs, so starting the day with that should probably energize them. From then on, we’ll see. But there’s a lot of work to be done – regardless of how I feel about it – and they’re going to have get on board.

One response to “Grind it Out

  1. “Teachers are vilified for the amount of off days in the school year – only non-teachers fail to realize the catastrophe that would be teachers who get no breaks.”

    I could not agree more!

Leave a comment