Reasons to Celebrate


I have high expectations for my students. They are specific to their own needs and current abilities. They are realistic.

In our classroom, we celebrate what, to outsiders, is insignificant because no achievement should be considered insignificant.

When a student no longer relies on me to remind them how to properly form a lowercase g or realizes for himself that for “b” he wrote “d,” that is a reason to celebrate.

When a student who previously receded into a shell of shyness and self-doubt when called to the front of the room instead tentatively steps forward, boldly putting herself out there in her own way, that is a reason to celebrate.

When a student sets goals of advancing to the next reading level and accomplishes that goal with a proud smile, that is a reason to celebrate.

When we honor each other’s different abilities and respect the fact that everyone has strengths and weaknesses, that is a reason to celebrate.

When the words “Dare to try” ring out from one student to the next even though I’m not near them, that is a reason to celebrate.

When a student is struggling to do something and suddenly hears her name being chanted in support, that is a reason to celebrate.

When a student starts coming on time after chronic lateness, that is a reason to celebrate.

When a student who previously butted heads with any notion of failure announces, “I am proud of myself!” that is a reason to celebrate.

When we bridge word work, reading, and writing into a harmonious synergy that demonstrates proper use of short vowels or other phonics, that is a reason to celebrate.

When another teacher comes in with a smile, the stigma of my students broken by their vibrant personalities and eager attitudes, that is a reason to celebrate.

When my students tell me in actions, words, and small notes how much I mean to them, that is a reason to celebrate.

Even when traditional means of schooling and assessment bring my students’ attitudes down and leave them questioning the message they get from me and each other in contrast to what a number says, there is so much in my room to celebrate…

Because we understand that none of our accomplishments should ever be diminished.

5 responses to “Reasons to Celebrate

  1. This was my favorite, “When the words “Dare to try” ring out from one student to the next even though I’m not near them, that is a reason to celebrate.” When you heard this you must have felt so happy 🙂 Great post!

  2. Pingback: Celebrating Teachers – A Celebration Challenge | Throwing Back Tokens

  3. Pingback: Remainders: On the higher-poverty future of education reform | GothamSchools

  4. As a special education teacher I totally agree with you. Our kids work harder than anyone else and the small things really are the big things that will make them incredible adults.

Leave a comment